How to Proceed
- Question for March 4, 2023

In stroke play, a player’s ball lies just outside a bunker in the general area. They properly take relief from a sprinkler head and the ball comes to rest in the proper relief area. Before making their next stroke, the ball moves coming to rest inside the bunker. It is not known or virtually certain what caused the ball to move. They then play the ball from its new position. What penalty if any, does the player receive?

A.      No Penalty

B.      One Stroke Penalty

C.      General Penalty

D.      Loss of hole Penalty

Link to Answer

Do you have a rules question that you have often wondered about? If so, please send it to for an answer and who knows it could very well be our next “Rules Question of the Week”.

The MVGA Provides Educational Scholarship Dollars to those that want to become Rules Assistants in our Area.  To Start Your Journey - Questions? email
Internships / About Us
(937) 294-6842
263 Regency Ridge Dr.
Dayton, OH 45459
Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

MVGA_Blue_X MVGA_Blue_X Instagram_-_MVGA_Blue LinkedIn_-_MVGA_Blue SmugMug_-_MVGA_Blue