How to Proceed

- Rules Question 12-17-2022 - 

Hand_Marking_BallIn stroke play, a ball at rest on the putting green is marked by the player and then lifted to be cleaned. He puts that ball in his pocket, which is then mixed in with two other golf balls that he has in his pocket. He grabs a different ball from his pocket, replaces that ball back on the original spot and then holes that putt. Before the player tees off on the next hole, he realizes his mistake. What is the ruling?

A. The player is penalized two strokes because he has played a wrong ball and must correct that mistake before teeing off on the next hole or he will be disqualified.

B. The player has proceeded correctly and is not penalized.

C. The player is penalized two strokes for playing an incorrectly substituted ball and the hole is complete.

D. The player is disqualified for playing a wrong ball.

Link to Answer

Do you have a rules question that you have often wondered about? If so, please send it to for an answer and who knows it could very well be our next “Rules Question of the Week”.

The MVGA Provides Educational Scholarship Dollars to those that want to become Rules Assistants in our Area.  To Start Your Journey - Questions? email
Internships / About Us
(937) 294-6842
263 Regency Ridge Dr.
Dayton, OH 45459
Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

MVGA_Blue_X MVGA_Blue_X Instagram_-_MVGA_Blue LinkedIn_-_MVGA_Blue SmugMug_-_MVGA_Blue