How to Proceed
- Question for April 8, 2023


In stroke play, a player's ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark after a stroke in the general area. The player takes relief under the embedded ball relief Rule (16.3b) but, before dropping a ball, the player repairs the pitch-mark and other indentations behind where the ball was embedded. What is the ruling?

A. There is no penalty.

B. There is a one stroke penalty.

C. The player gets the general penalty.


Do you have a rules question that you have often wondered about? If so, please send it to for an answer and who knows it could very well be our next “Rules Question of the Week”.

The MVGA Provides Educational Scholarship Dollars to those that want to become Rules Assistants in our Area.  To Start Your Journey - Questions? email
Internships / About Us
(937) 294-6842
263 Regency Ridge Dr.
Dayton, OH 45459
Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

MVGA_Blue_X MVGA_Blue_X Instagram_-_MVGA_Blue LinkedIn_-_MVGA_Blue SmugMug_-_MVGA_Blue