|How to Proceed|
- Rules Question 12-31-2022 -
On a long par 4, you hook your tee shot into a large area of rocks to the left of the hole. You play a provisional ball that comes to rest on the right side of the fairway the same distance from the hole as where you estimate your original ball to be. Although spectators are already looking in the rocks for your original ball, you choose not to search for it, believing you won’t be able to play it from the rocks and that stroke-and-distance relief is your only good option. You ask the spectators to stop looking and declare the ball lost. You then make a stroke at your provisional ball, and it comes to rest on the green, close to the hole. After having marked the spot of and lifted your provisional ball from the putting green, you hear that a spectator found your original ball in a terrible lie amongst the rocks after having searched for about 10 minutes. Which one of the following statements is true?
Do you have a rules question that you have often wondered about? If so, please send it to firstname.lastname@example.org for an answer and who knows it could very well be our next “Rules Question of the Week”.
|The MVGA Provides Educational Scholarship Dollars to those that want to become Rules Assistants in our Area. To Start Your Journey - Questions? email email@example.com|