The "Loving Cup" 
First Presented in 1919, this Silver Loving Cup donated by the Daily and Sunday News was presented to Dayton County Club for Vin Hilton's first recorded Dayton Area Amateur Championship. Mr. Hilton then went on to win the 1920 & 1921 championship. We assume retiring the first trophy. In 1922, Howard Jordan won the championship and his name was engraved onto a new trophy that was also donated by the Daily and Sunday News. The second trophy was then award to Vin Hilton for his fourth win and Jack Parrott in 1924 before both trophies where lost for decades! 

During a renovation in the early 2000's at Dayton Country Club both trophies where found tarnished and dented.  They have been straightened and polished and a base added with all the amateur champions through the years. 


Past Champions
1919 Vin Hilton 1920 Vin Hilton 1921 Vin Hilton
1922 Howard Jordan 1923 Vin Hilton 1924 Jack Parrott
1925 Paul Morgan 1926 Jim Herr1927 Harry Lindsay
1928 Ralph Brown1929 Bob Kepler 1930 Bob Kepler
1931 Bob Kepler1932 Bob Kepler1933 Bob Servis
1934 Lt. Ken Rogers1935 Bob Servis 1936 Jim Flynn
1937 Joe Higgins 1938 Joe Zotkiewicz 1939 Paul Genung
1940 Paul Genung 1941 Lt. Ben Schriever1942 Joe Higgins
1943-45 No Tournament 1946 Don Shock1947 Don Shock
1948 Dick Tang1949 Jack Zimmerman1950 Denny Walters
1951 Jack Cleary 1952 Andy Augaitis 1953 Pat Schwab
1954 Jack Zimmerman1955 Bill Wheeler 1956 John Blesi
1957 Bobby Zimmerman 1958 Jack Zimmerman 1959 Gordon Waldespuhl
1960 Dudley Kircher 1961 Jim MacFadyen 1962 Nick Ungard
1963 Carl Yung 1964 Barry Baumgardner1965 Danny Robison
1966 Dave Wilson 1967 Al Lewis 1968 Ted Ritter
1969 George Welsh1970 John Fisher 1971 Bob Shawen
1972 Dave Wilson 1973 Walter Law1974 Jim Shively
1975 Asey Jackson1976 Dave Wilson1977 Jim Awsumb
1978 James "Skip" Snow1979 Jim Neff 1980 Mike Glendenning
1981 No Tournament1982 Mike Glendenning1983 Richard Haire
1984 Jim Neff 1985 Dave Eby1986 Brian Hodgson
1987 Richard Haire 1988 Jim Shively 1989 Mike Dempsey
1990 Mike Dempsey1991 Don Block 1992 Mike Suttman
1993 Carl Bidwell 1994 Bob Jones 1995 Bob Jones
Metropolitan Champions
1996 Greg Lawrence1997 Matt Ehlinger1998 Dale Shires
1999 Bob Eardley2000 Mike Suttman2001 Mike Suttman
2002 Pete Samborsky2003 Ron Eubel2004 Marty Miller
2005 Bob Jones2006 Pete Samborsky2007 Pete Samborsky
2008 Pete Samborsky2009 Michael Bernard2010 Jeff Scohy
2011 Pete Samborsky2012 Ryan Reichley2013 Nick Scott
2014 Zach Yinger 2015 Pete Betzold2016 Josh Gilkison
2017 Josh Gilkison2018 Nick Paxson2019 Austin Schoonmaker
2020 Austin Schoonmaker 2021 Bryce Haney