How to Proceed

- Rules Question 1-7-2023  

- In stroke play, a player takes relief from a penalty area. The player stands back on the line through the point the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area, holds their arm to the side at knee height and deliberately drops the ball one foot to the side of this line. In addition to the one stroke penalty under Rule 17.1d(2) the ruling is?

A.   The player has proceeded correctly

B.   The player gets no additional penalty if they correct the incorrect drop before making a stroke otherwise the get 2 penalty strokes

C.   The player gets 2 additional penalty strokes and must play the ball as it lies

D.   The player gets 2 additional penalty strokes and must correct the incorrect drop

Link to Answer

Do you have a rules question that you have often wondered about? If so, please send it to for an answer and who knows it could very well be our next “Rules Question of the Week”.

The MVGA Provides Educational Scholarship Dollars to those that want to become Rules Assistants in our Area.  To Start Your Journey - Questions? email
Internships / About Us
(937) 294-6842
263 Regency Ridge Dr.
Dayton, OH 45459
Terms of Service & Privacy Policy

MVGA_Blue_X MVGA_Blue_X Instagram_-_MVGA_Blue LinkedIn_-_MVGA_Blue SmugMug_-_MVGA_Blue